Beach Bliss at Mahabang Buhangin, Calaguas, Cam. Norte

I found out Monday that our Calaguas trip wouldn’t push through given the stringent measures set up by the Republic’s accounting and auditing guidelines. I did not sign up for our smaller group’s excursion because on that same weekend, I was bent on setting foot for the second time on the powdery white sand of Mahabang Buhangin Island in Calaguas, Camarines Norte.

K and I finally booked a trip Wednesday of the same week via Beach Bliss Travel and Tours which was recommended to us by Coast Camp, host of our Burias Group of Islands, Masbate tour. The head tour operator gave me an itinerary and asked for a down payment to which we obliged.

Day One

I had to drag my sleepyhead to make it to the 4:30 am call time. From 711 in front of the CBD II Terminal, we travelled by van to Vinzons, Camarines Norte. By 7:00 am, we were at the Vinzons Municipal Hall and a little later, at the Logpond port for loading. At 8:00 am, we boarded Elsa. Amid gentle waves, the chartered boat took us two full hours later to the shores of Mahabang Buhangin. By 10:00, the white sand beach with turquoise waters greeted us.

handpaintedsky©
handpaintedsky©
handpaintedsky©
We set up camp shortly thereafter. Since the water was so inviting, K and I decided to go for a swim before and after lunch. Really, I was so tutong when I went home from the trip.


handpaintedsky©

At around 3 pm, K and the rest of the group went island hopping and cliff diving. I stayed put because I already did both things last year. I had to rest my head, too, because a migraine was brewing in my head. While they were out, I took a nap. Woke up, popped a pill, and went to sleep again. I felt better when I woke up and planned to explore and walk to the other end of the island on my own. It happened that Elsa was back ashore and I asked K if she wanted to go with me. She agreed.

I took of my flipflops off and allowed my feet to press against the soft white sand. In Calaguas, that’s what I always do: walk barefoot because the sand is almost as soft as talcum powder. We eventually got tired because really, the monicker of the island is true. Mahabang Buhangin means long sand, literally. Moreover, my target spot was covered with sky blue tarpaulin fence because of a mini-concert. We decided then to just wade into the water.

handpaintedsky©

handpaintedsky©
My inner water baby kicked in. With the sunset in the background, the cool beats being spun by the disc jockey at the concert area nearby, the still water around me, and the ground corals underneath, you wouldn’t just let the opportunity go, right? It was dark when we went back to our cottage. We had so much fun in the water that we completely forgot that we were at the other end of the beach and had a long walk back. Haha.

Dinner comprised of steamed rice, herbed porkchop, grilled tuna, and chili salsa. I wasn’t able to take a picture because I was already famished. ¬†K and I made the beeline to the comfort rooms and showered. It was good that our cottage was strategically located so responding to the call of nature was no problemo. I slept on one of the benches of the open cottage because I couldn’t take the heat inside the tent. *good night*

Beach Bliss

Haven’t been to Calaguas? Don’t let yourself get left behind all the buzz and fuss. It was my second time but the high is as glorious as ever. Book a tour and experience the island for yourself! There are several operators offering services but I would recommend Beach Bliss Travel and Tours for an awesome experience.

I was amazed at how the Beach Bliss boys were precise with their time as stated in the itinerary. They moved like clockwork. Not one delay in the activities set for the day. Truly, we didn’t waste any of your precious time while at Mahabang Buhangin. So too, the food was superb. The menu were beach staples of pork, fish, and veggies but with added zing. It was as if you were eating from your own kitchen and not on an island. Servings were very generous, too. The icing on top of the cake? The cold drinking water they provide their guests. Aaaah. Very refreshing for a beach trip.

Wait for Day Two here. ūüôā

I remain.

One thought on “Beach Bliss at Mahabang Buhangin, Calaguas, Cam. Norte

  1. Pingback: Beach Bliss at Calaguas and Bagasbas, Camarines Norte | .. hand painted sky ..

Thoughts, anyone? (",)

