Fragment 22 of the Berlin Wall

When I visited the National Museum, I totally forgot that a portion of the Berlin Wall was mounted there. It was in the news a few months back. It was when I saw these signs as I gained entrance through the museum door that I remembered that yes, I wanted to see the Berlin Wall, too.


img_2436
The noise of the touring students actually led me to where Fragment 22 of the Berlin Wall was.


As there were lots of people, I knew I would not be able to take a good look at it. I therefore went around the galleries at the Museum of the Filipino People in the meantime. After going through one whole round, I found myself back at the very place where Fragment 22 can be found.

 

… while this side faced East Berlin.

As the students were done with their familiarization tour, I made my way near and was able to see the Fragment up close.

And why is this Berlin Wall so important, you ask?



Yeah. That’s it. I was in primary school when I kept hearing about the Cold War and the Fall of Berlin Wall in the news. I did not quite understand what was going on yet but I perceived that the words were of great significance. And right now,


I’m psyched because I’m standing right next to this big domino! ūüôā

From what I heard, Fragment 22 will be transferred to a specific place at the Rizal Park for everyone to see. I don’t know when it will be and where the exact location is. Right now, its home is at the Museum of the Filipino People.

Would you like to see this big piece of history, too? Go and visit the National Museum’s National Art Gallery and Museum of the Filipino People located at P. Burgos Avenue, Rizal Park, Manila. Both are open from Mondays to Sundays from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm, and closed on Mondays Mondays and certain public holidays.

Admission Prices for regular visitors is PhP 150.00 for Adults, PhP 120.00 for Senior Citizens with ID, PhP 50.00 for Students with ID, while children below 4 years old are admitted for free. Meanwhile, entrance is free to all visitors on Sundays.

For those who come in groups of 51 or more, admission rates for Adults and Senior Citizens with ID is PhP 120.00 and PhP 40.00 for students with ID.

To book regular or group tours, contact Museum Education at telephone number (02) 527-0278 or at email address museum.education.nm@gmail.com from. Booking hours is from Monday to Friday between 8:30 am and 4:30 pm.

For other information, you may contact the National Museum at telephone number (02) 527-1215 or at email address nationalmuseumph@yahoo.com, or through their website at http://www.nationalmuseum.gov.ph. The National Museum is also on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Thoughts, anyone? (",)

