Spoliarium

Squinting through the map handed to me, I asked in my head, “So where in the world, the universe rather, is the Spoliarium?” Kating-kating talaga makita ang Spoliarium, eh no? (Really itching to see the Spoliarium, eh?)

I remember that the nearest I could get to the famed artwork by Antonio Luna was when my friends and I went to the Luna Museum in Ilocos.

handpaintedsky©

NHC Marker of the Luna Museum (left); outside the Luna stands a life-sized statue of Antonio Luna (right). Ilocos, 2009.

handpaintedsky©

Leaning against a replica of the Spoliarium at the Luna Museum. Ilocos, 2009.

I encountered the painting again when my clique of girls watched Heneral Luna, a film about the painter’s feisty general-brother.

handpaintedsky©

Heneral Antonio Luna. Luna Museum, Ilocos 2009.

 

Photo collage from the worlwideweb

I walked a few steps through one of the big doors and found what I have always wanted to see. I¬†couldn’t believe my eyes!

I was at a total loss for words. I stood frozen for about 5 minutes just gazing lovingly at the grand vision before me. I tried to breathe in every single detail of the painting. I grazed upon every stroke, color, and story told by the oil on canvass. I was amazed. Mesmerized, even. Nakakamangha. Nakaka-nganga (Jaw dropping).

When the wisp of enthrallment somehow dwindled, I managed to walk toward it.

handpaintedsky©

Spoliarium in locks, bolts, and chains.

 

handpaintedsky©

Spolarivm, it says.

 

handpaintedsky©

Lvna, Roma.

 

Yey! I finally ticked off experiencing the authentic Spoliarium from my bucket list! I feel so fulfilled that I did! ūüôā

How about you, have you been to the National Museum? If not, why not? Goooooo!

The National Museum is located at P. Burgos Avenue, Rizal Park, Manila. It is open from Mondays to Sundays from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm, and closed on Mondays Mondays and certain public holidays.

Admission Prices for regular visitors is PhP 150.00 for Adults, PhP 120.00 for Senior Citizens with ID, PhP 50.00 for Students with ID, while children below 4 years old are admitted for free. Meanwhile, entrance is free to all visitors on Sundays.

For those who come in groups of 51 or more, admission rates for Adults and Senior Citizens with ID is PhP 120.00 and PhP 40.00 for students with ID.

To book regular or group tours, contact Museum Education at telephone number (02) 527-0278 or at email address museum.education.nm@gmail.com from. Booking hours is from Monday to Friday between 8:30 am and 4:30 pm.

For other information, you may contact the National Museum at telephone number (02) 527-1215 or at email address nationalmuseumph@yahoo.com, or through their website at http://www.nationalmuseum.gov.ph. The National Museum is also on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Thoughts, anyone? (",)

