Our Lady of the Gate in Daraga, Albay

This is a super late post but I still deem worth posting anyway.

Last Holy Week, our parish went to a pilgrimage in the Albay province. Mama said there will be two places to be visited. Since I have not been to the places she mentioned, I decided to go.

Our first stop was the Our Lady of the Gate Church in Daraga, Albay. It is a centuries-old church located on top of a hill.  handpaintedsky©

Its exterior’s intricate carving reveal the art style of our forefathers.


Before I roamed around the place, mass was celebrated by the priests

handpaintedsky©

mass-goers

This was where we were seated:

handpaintedsky©

mother and child

A huge door which was supposed to have given us the perfect view of Mt. Mayon. Unfortunately, the clouds covered her up.
After the mass, I went to the door at the left side of the church and found myself in an alley leading to the Sacristy.

handpaintedsky©

Our Lady of the Gate/ Nuestra Se√Īora de la Porteria

Our parish patron saint was there

handpaintedsky©

St. Therese of the Child Jesus

along with other images of Jesus and the Saints

handpaintedsky©
handpaintedsky©
On the other side of the alley is where candles are lit.

handpaintedsky©
Still on the same alley was this huge painting

handpaintedsky©
handpaintedsky©
I found myself in a mini museum once I crossed the door


The black and white (sepia?) pictures depict the church and its parishioners during the olden times. handpaintedsky©
handpaintedsky©
handpaintedsky© And of course, this plaque from the National Museum.

handpaintedsky¬©It’s a nice feeling to be off someplace where I do not go often. In this case, it’s mu first tome to be here and I’m glad I joined our parish pilgrimage.

I hope to join again! 
Thank you, thank you, thank you! ‚̧ԳŹ

One thought on “Our Lady of the Gate in Daraga, Albay

  1. Pingback: Romanticizing the Ruins of Cagsaua Church | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

Thoughts, anyone? (",)

