My Taste of the Kaogma Festival 2014

The whole province of Camarines Sur sizzled hot with the celebration of the hottest festival in the world, the Kaogma Festival.

While the weather was truly hot (as in 36 degrees hot?), I didn’t feel much of the festival. I commute to Nabua everyday and the center of the line up of activities of the Kaogma Festival was at the Provincial Capitol, particularly the grounds fronting the Capitol Convention Center. That’s why.

Well, until I participated in the Tumblr Summer Ender Meet up (#TSEM2014). The whole carnival idea was propped up right in front of the Capitol Convention Center where the #TSEM2014 was held. Only then did I truly feel the vibe of the Kaogma Festival. 😜

As the program of the TSEM wore on, I kept glancing at the rides that my eyes could see: the Ikot Ikot (what is its name ba talaga?) and the Ferris Wheel. I was still unsure if I would try them out.

The view from where I was seated

The view from where I was seated

When the games, prizes, and surprises of the #TSEM2014 was through, I had enough time to explore the carnival-themed Kaogma Festival. And when the Ikot-Ikot went around and around (kaya nga Ikot-Ikot eh), yun na. I made up my mind that I will go for it. But first, I shook off all the flour on my face. Remember this?

Care for a kiss? ;p

Care for a kiss? ;p

It turns out, I was not the only one planning to avail of the FREE carnival rides. Some of my companions went for the beeline to experience the Disco Ball/ Flying Saucer/ Ikot-Ikot, too. Haha.

In no time, we were seated —

With a view of Mt. Isarog while waiting for some spinning action :)

With a view of Mt. Isarog while waiting for some spinning action 🙂

I took selfies while waiting:

Ok fine, feeling bata :)

Ok fine, feeling bata 🙂

The radio blasted some tunes and the pulley that propelled us began to whir. In no time, we were up in the air — spinning! For a good five minutes, our enchained seats encircled the main pole.

As we reached a certain height, I felt a lump on my throat and began to feel dizzy. I refused to look around since I felt more dizzy doing so. I just focused on what was in front of me at the fleeting moment and closed my eyes briefly. Thankfully, the Ikot-Ikot then slowed down. I got down from my seat and admittedly felt dizzy. I breathed in some air to ward off the dizzy feeling. Nakuh! I didn’t feel this way when we went to Enchanted Kingdom a few years back. Must be the weather. Hahaha. Anong konek?

I few feet from where I stood, I noticed that a short line of about five (5) people were queuing for the Zip line. Since I haven’t tried a zip line ever but had been wanting to do so, I brisk-walked my way to that part of the carnival. I inquired from the attendants if the line was open. They said that they were still waiting for the line to dry up a bit from the drizzle earlier. Since I sensed that the drying time was nearly over because they were setting up a few things I here and there, I stayed in line and waited.

reminders na naninigaw!

reminders na naninigaw!

My waiting paid off! In a matter of about ten (10) minutes, the attendants got busy with setting up those in line ready with zip lining gear. You know. Hooks and belt and pulleys and helmets here and there.

hook, line and helmet

hook, line and helmet

It was actually dark when I went for the line.

line

But before I took off, syempre

self-documentation. haha.

self-documentation. haha.

And darkness finally poured in after I took the zip line experience.

end of the line

end of the line

The zip line’s distance was short. In about a minute, your already at the other end. The height from the ground was low, it was as though my feet would touch the ground anytime. Nevertheless, I felt my tummy churn when I was asked to sit on the ledge and the assistant gave me a push. The adrenaline rush from end to end was short but sweet. It’s my first time anyway. Practice para sa longer and deeper zip line. 😀

I explored the rest of the grounds after my zip line experience and had a glimpse of the Kaogma festival carnival at night —

bright lights

bright lights

games zone

games zone

colorful stuffed toys

colorful stuffed toys

coin game

coin game

ring into the bottles

ring into the bottles

water ball

water ball

I think only the rides were available to the public for free. But the games in the area required a minimal fee before playing.

One last look:

The Disco Ball/ Flying Saucer/ Ikot-Ikot all lit up

The Disco Ball/ Flying Saucer/ Ikot-Ikot all lit up

After going around, I felt tired and wanted to go home. Luckily, Nick Astig and his gang accommodated me in their transpo home. They were even kind enough to drive me until our house’s street corner. What’s more, I got to bring home a bonus:

Carrot cupcake with white frosting and pear topping

Carrot cupcake with white frosting and pearl topping

Yey! Nick and Co., you are so kind. May God bless you a hundredfold. My taste of the Kaogma Festival was made even sweeter. Thank you so much!

How about you? How was your experience of the Kaogma Festival 2014?

Mine was short but sweet. 🙂

I remain.

One thought on “My Taste of the Kaogma Festival 2014

  1. Pingback: What a Tumblr Meet up is all about | .. hand painted sky ..

Thoughts, anyone? (",)

