Upgraded to iOS 7

l likewise joined the Update to iOS 7 bandwagon. And I’m grateful that there were no major glitches!

When Apple introduced its new iPhone 5s alongside its 5c, it likewise announced the advent of its iOS 7 upgrade. I did fall in love with the (relatively) much cheaper 5C. Look at all those lovely colors!

20130920-095115.jpg

I never really bothered upgrading to iOS 7. I didn’t know what the fuss was all about until @pattylaurel posted an Instagram photo which jerked me to my senses.

20130920-095343.jpg

I should have my iPad updated to iOS 7, too! I searched through the web and found a helpful article which helped me resolve to do the upgrade with my non-techie self on my own.

I followed what the author wrote to the letter. The essential parts are herein quoted:

Before you upgrade to iOS 7, though, there are a couple of housekeeping jobs to do. First, update your apps as certain out-of-date apps won’t work in iOS 7.

20130920-100851.jpg

Second, check if you have enough free storage space as the update requires at least 1.4GB of memory for temporarily storing the download during the update. xxx

Finally, make sure your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch is backed up to iCloud or your computer via iTunes before performing the update. It’s unlikely anything will go wrong, but if it does, you could lose any data that’s changed since your last backup such as new contacts, documents, photos, videos and more.

20130920-100904.jpg

You should also connect your wall charger as the update will take some time.

xxx

Now that the update has been released, you should see a pop-up notification on your screen at some point after this date telling you that a software update is available.

If you want to force your iPhone or iPad to check if the update is available, tap Settings, General, Software Update. Your smartphone or tablet will check if iOS 7 is available and you can then follow the instructions on screen.

20130920-101957.jpg

When prompted, tap Download to download the iOS 7 update.

20130920-102011.jpg

Once this is finished, tap Install to upgrade iOS.

20130920-102540.jpg

20130920-102552.jpg

20130920-102559.jpg

Whether updating over the air or via iTunes, your iOS device will restart after installing iOS 7.

And restart it did. The screen turned black and the illuminated Apple logo appeared. After a while, I was greeted by this:

20130920-104021.jpg

And then some more:

20130920-104033.jpg

Finally!

20130920-104044.jpg

I took this screenshot from my iPhone 3Gs. This is how the icons looked prior to the update:

20130920-105901.jpg

And now, it looks like this. Compare, compare.
Yey! I love the new layout. Freshness lang ang peg!

20130920-104413.jpg

And you, have you upgraded your iOS to iOS 7 already? You must, you must. And do it now! Like me, get to experience what the upgraded iOS from the Apple team has to offer its consumers.

I’m very happy that I was able to do an upgrade on my own. I have to thank the author of the article I found for that. I am very grateful, too, that I did not come across any major glitch in upgrading to the new iOS of my iPad.

iOS7 is it, beybeeeeeeeh!

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Thoughts, anyone? (",)

