Twelve: G’bye Facebook?

1.12.12

I deactivated my Facebook account around the end of October last year. For the rest of 2011, I became so active in Twitter, another social networking site I’m patronizing.

With Twitter, I began talking to myself online a lot. Twitter began filling the gap between me and the social networking world. I posted one-liners to my heart’s content with fewer readership than Facebook. I even wrote a brief comment about it which was featured in Cosmopolitan Philippines.

I originally intended to go back to Facebook once I get my broken pieces back. I thought I was ready. With the new year just in, I wanted to revamp and revive my Facebook account just like what I did to this blog.

So today, I tried to log in to my account and see for myself what I was really missing. I tried several times since I completely forgot what my password was.

That happens to me. Each time I want to forget, I consciously forget and really forget. I don’t know if there is any scientific explanation to that phenomenon but I call it ‘selective memory.’ I remember only the things I want to remember, and quite vividly. And shove into the deepest and darkest recesses of my memory all those which I would want to forget.

When I looked at my profile, there was this pinch in my heart. Facebook once chronicled my happiest days. I found my long lost friends in Facebook. I reconnected with old friends and continued connecting with present and new-found friends.

We have the option to hibernate. We likewise have the option to delete. And that’s what the Delete button is for, right?

delete = fin

photo source

For the second time in my life, I want to hibernate. Hide from everything. Just disappear from everybody else’s lives.

I wanted to delete my answers to the daily “What’s on your mind?” question. I wanted to delete photos from my albums and untag my photos from my friends’ albums. But I did not have the courage to do so. Not yet.

I think I’ll give myself some more time. More time to recover, and more time to accept things as they are. . I think I’ll be back on Facebook at the Appointed Time.¬†Maybe. Just maybe.

Meanwhile, I pressed the Deactivate Button. Again. Reasoning out that ‘this is but temporary.’

After all, goodbye doesn’t mean forever, right?

I remain.

P.S. On a lighter note, there are other ways to get in touch with me. That’s what technology is for, right? Email me at handpaintedsky@yahoo.com.¬†Follow me on twitter at twitter.com/handpaintedsky. Or¬†better yet, read about me here at handpaintedsky.wordpress.com.¬†See you around! ūüôā

P.S.¬†My ‘selective memory theory’ is backed by science and is accordingly called ‘flashbulb moment.’ Read about it here.

Thoughts, anyone? (",)

